Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Chunk! No, Captain Chunk!

Biography :

Named after the '80s classic adventure movie, "The Goonies", French pop punkers of Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! combine the energy of punk, the catchiness of pop, and the crushing assault of hardcore into a power party sound. Since forming in 2007 in Paris, they have created grin-inducing, infectious music, winning them friends and fans all over the world.

Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! signed a worldwi...de deal with Fearless Records in 2011, releasing a re-mastered version of their album Something for Nothing. The band toured UK and mainland Europe in fall 2011 with Miss May I, Chelsea Grin and Abandon All Ships, before their slot on The Fearless Friends Tour in the U.S. this November and December. They kicked off 2012 supporting Attack Attack! and Chelsea Grin in preperation for their slot on this years Vans Warped Tour.

Band Members :

* Bertrand Poncet - Vocals
* Paul Wilson - Guitar and Vocals
* √Čric Poncet - Guitar
* Mathias Rigal - Bass
* Jonathan Donnaes - Drums Read More...!!

50 Lions

Biography :

50 Lions are an Australian band from Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia. The band is named after a poker machine called '50 Lions'.

History  :

In 2006, they released their self-titled 7", which sold out within 3 months of its release. Later that year, they released their debut album, Nowhere To Run, through Washed Up Records.[1]  They then released Time Is The Enemy through Resist Records.[2]

In 2006 they did a tour with Australian band I Killed The Prom Queen.[3] At the beginning of 2008, the band played alongside Parkway Drive in 14 out of 15 dates during the Surf Rat Tour.[4] They have since released a split CD with American band Down To Nothing.

After their European tour, they will be doing a tour of Australia with Blacklisted, and then will be a part of the annual Hardcore festival in Sydney.[5][6]

50 Lions vocalist Oscar McCall is the brother of Parkway Drive vocalist Winston McCall.[7]

In December 2010, they released a new song on a split 7" with Australian bands Parkway Drive, No Apologies and Blkout entitled, This is Australia. The 7" was released by good friend and No Apologies vocalist Pete 'Bloke' Abordi on Abordi's very own Bloke Records. The goal was to release one song each by four prominent Australian hardcore bands with each song being under a minute in length.

The band continues to perform at metal festivals across Europe, despite their waning popularity and tenuous link to music royalty through familial relations with Parkway Drive.

Tours :

Throughout their short career they have toured with bands such as Rise Against, Parkway Drive, I Killed The Prom Queen, Evergreen Terrace and Comeback Kid.[8]

In November 2009, 50 Lions teamed up with Baltimore's Trapped Under Ice for a national tour of Australia. The tour will cover Adelaide, Melbourne, Canberra, Brisbane, Byron, Sydney and Perth. In January 2010, 50 Lions toured Australia nationally on the Boys of Summer 2010 Tour, supporting American metalcore band Every Time I Die. During the months from April to May 2010, 50 Lions toured Europe with Parkway Drive, Despised Icon, Winds Of Plague and The Warriors.

Band Members :

* Oscar McCall - Vocals
* Byron "Boz" Carney - Bass
* Elmzy- Guitars
* Baina - Guitars
* Jonathan Niclair - Drums

Discography :

* 50 Lions - Demo 7"  2005
* 50 Lions - Nowhere to Run  2006
* 50 Lions - Time Is the Enemy  2007
* 50 Lions - Down to Nothing / 50 Lions EP  2009
* 50 Lions - S/T 7"  2009
* 50 Lions - Where Life Expires  2009
* 50 Lions - This Is Australia: Split 7"  2010 Read More...!!

25 ta Life

Biography :

25 ta Life is an American  band from New York City, originally formed in Queens, N.Y.  in mid-1991.

History :

The band was started by Frank Smarra (Bass) and Harry Minas (Drums) in Astoria, Queens, N.Y., they were soon joined by Fred Mesk (Guitar) and together wrote most of the material that would be on their early releases.

In early 1992 they recruited former Agnostic Front roadie Rick Healy (AKA Rick ta Life) who added the lyrics to all the songs. They adopted the name after it was suggested by Freddie Madball. Madball also helped the band by giving them guest appearances at the end of their sets. 25 ta Life played their first full show at Studio 1 in New Jersey on May 10, 1993 supporting Obituary. After a few failed attempts to add a second Guitar player, Beto (formally of D'mize & Madball) joined the band in late 1993. In January 1994 Bassist and co-founding member Frank Smarra left the band due to family commitments and was replaced by Warren Lee. The Band continued to play massive amounts of shows in the tri-state area and all along the East Coast. In early 1996 25 ta Life traveled to Europe for the first time playing in Italy, Germany, Austria, Belgium and Poland. By late 1997 co-founding member Harry Minas left the band and was replaced by Seth Meyer from One4One.

25 ta Life opened for Agnostic Front's reunion show at the Wetland in December 1996 and then played all of AF's East Coast Dates along with Madball, Hatebreed and H2O in early 1997. They went to Japan in April 1997. Warren and Beto left in May 1997 after the West Coast Tour. Mike from One4One joined on Bass in June 1997 and they went to Europe in July 1997. Recorded Strength Through Unity in July 1997 writing half of it on the spot. Loyal to da Grave featuring Freddy from Madball and Lord Ezec from Crown of Thornz/Skarhead was written and recorded in less than an hour. Mike left in August 1997 and was replaced by Dave from Faction Zero. Later that month, they went to Puerto Rico and recorded 2 songs for the New York's Hardest 2 Compilation with Candiria and SFA. In October-November 1997, Biohazard took 25 ta Life on a short 8 show tour of the East Coast from Washington DC to Boston. Seth left the band in February 1998 and was replaced by Rob Pallotta. The band recorded it's first full-length album "Friendship, Loyalty & Commitment" in 1999.

Band Members :

Current Members :

* Rick ta Life - Vocals
* Ezra Vanbuskirk - lead Guitar
* Chris Manning - Guitar
* Big Ed - Bass
* Petey Pabblo - Drums
* Andrew Chumbley - Designated Pitter

Former Members :

* Fred Mesk - Guitar
* Steve Petit - Guitar
* Beto - Guitar
* Zack Attack - Guitar
* Mark Da Fist - Guitar
* Frank Smarra - Bass
* Warren Lee - Bass
* Mike H. - Bass
* Big Dave - Bass
* Chumley - Bass
* Big Ed - Bass
* Harry Minas - Drums
* Seth Meyer- Drums
* Rob Pallotta - Drums
* J. Skams NWR - Drums
* Justin the Jew - Drums
* Matt Brewer* - Guitar

Discography :

Studio Albums :

* 25 ta Life - Friendship Loyalty Commitment  1999
* 25 ta Life - Hellbound Misery Torment  2005
* 25 ta Life - Strength Integrity Brotherhood  2009

EPs :

* 25 ta Life - 25 ta Life  1994
* 25 ta Life - Keepin' It Real  1996
* 25 ta Life - Strength Through Unity: The Spirit Remains  1997
* 25 ta Life - Best of Friends And Enemies  2003
* 25 ta Life - Fallen Angel  2006

Splits :

* 25 ta Life - Morning Again/25 ta Life  1996
* 25 ta Life - Make it Work  1996
* 25 ta Life - Highway to Hellfest  1998
* 25 ta Life - Never Tear Us Apart  1999
* 25 ta Life - Hellbound Split  2004
* 25 ta Life - Cut Throat/25 ta Life  2006
* 25 ta Life - 25 ta Life/In Search of  2006

Demos :

* 25 ta Life - NYHC Demo  1993

Live Albums :

* 25 ta Life - Live at Few da Real  2004

Compilation Albums :

* 25 ta Life - N.Y.H.C. Documentary Soundtrack  1996
* 25 ta Life - Haterz Be Damned  2004
* 25 ta Life - Early Dayz  2006
* 25 ta Life - Forever, True, Represent  2008 Read More...!!