Sunday, March 25, 2012

Misery Index

Biography :

Misery Index is an American deathgrind band formed in 2001 in Baltimore, Maryland, United States, by Jason Netherton on vocals and bass guitar, Mike Harrison on vocals and guitar, and Kevin Talley on drums. From 2006-2010, its line-up consisted of Netherton on vocals and bass guitar, Sparky Voyles on guitar, Mark Kloeppel on vocals and guitar, and Adam Jarvis on drums. In 2010, Voyles left the band and was replaced by Darin Morris.

Background :

Misery Index's music is best described as death metal with strong hardcore punk and grindcore influences. Their vein of music is often said to resemble their fellow Maryland death metal outfit Dying Fetus, as Netherton, Voyles, ex-guitarist Greig and ex-drummer Talley are all former members of that band. Misery Index's lyrical subject matter is left-wing, often coinciding with radical and anarchic aesthetics and focusing mostly on the ills of modern society. Their band name is derived from the economic indicator of the same name, which was also the namesake of the last album by Assück, from whom Misery Index draw a significant influence.

The band runs its own record label, Anarchos Records, on which it has released a few EPs. They signed to Relapse Records in January, 2006, and released their second album Discordia in May 2006. Their third album Traitors was released in September 2008. Their fourth album, Heirs To Thievery was released May 11, 2010. In June 2011, the band signed to Season of Mist Records.

Band Members :

Current Members :

* Jason Netherton – bass guitar, vocals (2001–present)
* Mark Kloeppel – guitar, vocals (2005–present)
* Adam Jarvis – drums (2004–present)
* Darin Morris – lead guitar (2010–present)

Former Members :

* Kevin Talley – drums (2001–2002, 2004)
* Mike Harrison – guitar, vocals (2001–2002, 2004)
* Matt Byers – drums (2002–2004)
* Bruce Greig – guitar (2003–2004)
* John "Sparky" Voyles – guitar (2002–2010)

Discography :

Albums :

* Misery Index - Retaliate (2003)
* Misery Index - Discordia (2006)
* Misery Index - Traitors (2008)
* Misery Index - Heirs To Thievery (2010)

EPs :

* Misery Index - Overthrow CD/12" (2001)
* Misery Index - Split w/ Commit Suicide CD (2002)
* Misery Index - Split w/ Structure of Lies CD (2003)
* Misery Index - Dissent CD/12" (2004)
* Misery Index - Split w/ Bathub Shitter 7" (2006)
* Misery Index - Hang Em High 7" (2007)
* Misery Index - Split w/ Mumakil CD/7" (2007)
* Misery Index - Split w/ Lock Up 7" (2011)

Compilations :

* Misery Index - Pulling Out the Nails CD/LP (2010)

0 komentar:

Post a Comment