Friday, November 19, 2010


Biography :

Sigh (サイ, sai?) is a Japanese black metal band from Tokyo, formed in 1990. They are credited as being one of the first Japanese black metal bands, when the majority of black metal in early 1990s came from Scandinavia. They gradually shifted from a more traditional black/thrash metal sound, to a more experimental, avant-garde style.

History :

Sigh formed in 1990 in Tokyo, Japan. The band was signed by Euronymous' (of Mayhem fame) infamous label Deathlike Silence Records and released their first full-length album Scorn Defeat on DSP in 1993, shortly after Euronymous' death. The label ceased to exist shortly after his death and Sigh changed to Cacophonous Records.

After major disputes with Cacophonous over promotion and album rights, the band eventually found a new home at Century Media Records. Through this label they released their album Imaginary Sonicscape in 2001, which contained a more avant-garde elements than their previous work. In 2005 they released their full-length Gallows Gallery through yet another source, Candlelight Records/Baphomet Records. The band is now signed to The End Records that released Hangman's Hymn and reissued re-mastered versions of Gallows Gallery and Imaginary Sonicscape with revamped artwork and bonus tracks.

The band is featured in the 2008 documentary Global Metal. Their new album Scenes From Hell was released on January 19, 2010.

Band Members :

Current Members :

* Mirai Kawashima – Vocals, keyboards (1990–present)
* Shinichi Ishikawa – Guitar (1992–present)
* Satoshi Fujinami – Guitar (1990–1992, 2008), Drums (1992–2004, 2008), Bass (2004–present)
* Junichi Harashima – Drums (2004–present)
* Dr. Mikannibal – Saxophone, vocals (2007–present)

Former Members :

* Kazuki Ozeki – Drums (1990)

Discography :

Studio Albums :

* Sigh - Scorn Defeat (1993)
* Sigh - Infidel Art (1995)
* Sigh - Hail Horror Hail (1997)
* Sigh - Scenario IV: Dread Dreams (1999)
* Sigh - Imaginary Sonicscape (2001)
* Sigh - Gallows Gallery (2005)
* Sigh - Hangman's Hymn (2007)
* Sigh - Scenes from Hell (2010)

EPs :

* Sigh - Requiem for Fools (1992)
* Sigh - Ghastly Funeral Theatre (1997)
* Sigh - A Tribute to Venom (2008)
* Sigh - The Curse of Izanagi 7" (2010)

0 komentar:

Post a Comment