Saturday, November 13, 2010

Winds of Plague

Biography :

Winds of Plague is an American deathcore band from Upland, California, formed in 2002. They are best known as one of the only deathcore bands to incorporate symphonic elements into their music.

The band's name is derived from a section of lyrics in the Unearth song "Endless"; "Growing wings of sorrow/have brought you to the winds of plague."

History :

Winds of Plague was founded in 2002 in Upland, California. During the time of the band's inception, its name was originally "Bleak December". However, they changed their name in April 2005, to "Winds of Plague", being named after a lyric from the Unearth song, "Endless".

They have toured with Despised Icon, Parkway Drive, Impending Doom, Danzig, Dimmu Borgir, Veil of Maya, With Dead Hands Rising, and As Blood Runs Black. Most recently, they played at the New England Metal and Hardcore Festival, toured the US on the "Blackest of the Black" tour and finished a 2010 Japan tour with Parkway Drive, 50 Lions, Despised Icon, The Warriors, and Terror.

They were featured on The Atticus Metal Tour with Emmure, All Shall Perish, Abacabb, Terror, and The Ghost Inside.

In the summer of 2009 was in the Summer Slaughter tour with Necrophagist, Suffocation, Darkest Hour and others. After the Summer Slaughter tour, they joined Hatebreed, Chimaira, Dying Fetus, and Toxic Holocaust on the Decimation of the Nation tour.

Their third album, and their second release on the major label Century Media, "The Great Stone War" was released on August 11, 2009. The album features a song entitled "Classic Struggle" and features guest vocals by Mitch Lucker of Suicide Silence.

On October 14, 2009, keyboardist Kristen Randall stated that she would be leaving the band and did so days afterward. The band approached musician Lisa Marx to fill in on keyboard for their Australian/New Zealand tour. Afterwards the band found Alana Potocnik who since then has been inducted as Winds of Plague's keyboardist, replacing Randall.

On January 20, 2010, it was announced that Winds of Plague would be playing on the Jagermeister Stage at the 2010 Rockstar Mayhem Festival in July and August.

During April 2010, Winds of Plague have recently been touring with Despised Icon, The Warriors, Parkway Drive and 50 Lions for Parkway Drive's UK and Europe Tour.

Band Members :

Current Members :

* Johnathan "Johnny Plague" Cooke - Vocals (2002-present)
* Nick Eash - Lead Guitar (2004-present)
* Nick Piunno - Rhythm Guitar (2002-present)
* Andrew Glover - Bass Guitar (2006-present)
* Art Cruz - Drums (2009-present)
* Alana Potocnik - Keyboards (2009-present)

Former Members :

* Kristen Randall - Keyboard (2008-2009)
* Kevin Grant - Bass (2002−2005)
* Corey Fine - Drums (2002−2004)
* Brandon Pitcher - Keyboards (2002-2003)
* Chris Cooke - Keyboards (2003−2006)
* Jeff Tenney - Drums (2004-2008)
* Matt Feinman - Keyboards (2007−2008)
* Joshua Blackburn - Lead Guitar (2002-2004)

Discography :

* Winds of Plague - A Cold Day in Hell
* Winds of Plague - Decimate the Weak
* Winds of Plague - The Great Stone War

0 komentar:

Post a Comment