Saturday, November 13, 2010


Biography :

Whitechapel is an American deathcore band from Knoxville, Tennessee. Since their inception in 2006, the band has released three studio albums and four music videos and are currently signed to Metal Blade Records. Whitechapel are notable for employing three guitarists, each of which perform specific parts during performances. Their band name is derived from a district in the built-up inner city of London, known as Whitechapel.

History :

Formation and The Somatic Defilement (2006—2007)

Whitechapel was founded in February 2006 by Knoxville residents Phil Bozeman, Brandon Cagle, and Ben Savage. They were soon joined by Alex Wade (formerly of Redwinterdying), later Whitechapel guitarist Zach Householder, Gabe Crisp, and Derek Martin, and recorded their first demos in March of that year. They named themselves after the location in London known as Whitechapel where the occurrence of the infamous Whitechapel murders were committed by Jack the Ripper. In 2007 the band signed to Siege of Amida Records in the United Kingdom, and Candlelight Records in North America, and later acquired new drummer Kevin Lane and released their debut full-length album The Somatic Defilement in June of that year.

This Is Exile (2007—2010)

In October 2007, the group signed to Metal Blade Records, and in 2008 released their second album entitled This Is Exile. The album reached #118 in the Billboard Top 200. In May 2008, the band toured on The Summer Slaughter Tour, and in August 2008, they began their first ever headlining tour with Impending Doom, A Different Breed of Killer, and Through the Eyes of the Dead.

In 2008 they were starting to tour with more popular bands such as Parkway Drive and Unearth on the Never Say Die! tour. They have produced a video for the song "Possession", along with one for "This Is Exile". Whitechapel has also toured on the Rockstar Mayhem Festival on the Hot Topic Stage along with the bands Job for a Cowboy, Cannibal Corpse, Behemoth and The Black Dahlia Murder, and alongside bands of the main stage such as Slayer and Marilyn Manson, who headlined the tour.

Whitechapel toured with Darkest Hour and Trivium on their 2009 and 2010 "Into the Mouth of Hell We Tour".

A New Era of Corruption (2010—present)

Whitechapel recorded their follow-up album to This Is Exile from December 27th to March 31st with Jason Suecof as the chosen producer. The band early-on announced a summer 2010 release date for the record. The name of the album was later confirmed to be A New Era of Corruption.

A song from A New Era of Corruption entitled, "The Darkest Day of Man" was performed live before the album's release. Months later it was released as streaming media online. A New Era of Corruption was released on June 8, 2010.

Whitechapel's focus on mass exposure over their small, dedicated following has provided them with featured spots in both California Metal Fest IV and 2010's Warped Tour. They have also been announced to play Download festival in 2010, and will be a part of the second stage showcased. A headlining US tour with Impending Doom, Oceano, I Declare War and Miss May I has been confirmed.

Band Members :

Current Members :

* Phil Bozeman — Vocals
* Ben Savage — Lead Guitar
* Zach Householder — Guitar (since 2007)
* Alex Wade — Guitar
* Gabe Crisp — Bass Guitar
* Kevin Lane — Drums (since 2007)

Former Members :

* Brandon Cagle — guitar (2006—2007)
* Derek Martin — drums (2006—2007)

Discography :

* Whitechapel - The Somatic Defilement
* Whitechapel - This Is Exile
* Whitechapel - A New Era of Corruption

0 komentar:

Post a Comment