Saturday, August 14, 2010


Biography :

Maruta was concieved in october 2005. After being in several south floridian grindcore and metal acts, founding member Mitchell Luna and Nick Augusto had the intentions of starting an abrasive grind/powerviolence band. Maruta managed to pump out half a dozen songs, and immediatey began playing shows up and down the long desolate state of Florida.
A 4 song demo was released shortly thereafter. Less than a year into the bands existence, the band teamed up with guitar player Eduardo Borja, who helped incorporate more dissonant and technical elements to the band's sound, and their approach to grindcore. Maruta did several DIY tours in 2006 and 2007, playing the foulest piss drenched basements, and the seediest bars North America has to offer. Needless to say, the boys had a good time and made some good friends.
In 2008, Maruta embarked on a full U.S. tour with Phobia, Impaled, Malignancy,Kill the client, and Illogicist. They also participated in the Relapse records "This comp kills facists" release with 2 exclusive songs. The band's first full length finally surfaced after many technical difficulties, and long inebriated angry nights in the studio. " IN NARCOSIS" was released October of 2008 via the infamous forward thinking metal label, Willowtip.
As far as 2009 goes: Maruta has so far toured in the U.S. midwest and east-coast alongside Rotten sound, Crowpath, and Misery Index (select dates) to coincide with their performance at Maryland Death Fest 7. The group is currently hard at work on a new record that is slated for an early 2010 release through Willowtip. Plenty more touring to follow.
Maruta is basically 4 humble individuals simply doing what they love to do best: playing some fucking grind. "We live it. We breathe it".

Band Members :

* Mitchell Luna - Vocalist
* Eduardo Borja - Guitarist
* Mauro Cordoba - Bassist
* Danny Morris - Drummers

Influences :

* Moneybags

Discography :

* Maruta - In Narcosis Full Length CD (Willowtip / Candlelight)
* Maruta - V/A-This Comp Kills Fascists Vol. 1 CD/LP
* Maruta - Split 7" with Fistula (Corruption Recordings)
* Maruta - 2008 Tour Ep. (self released). Contains Alternate Versions of 5 Songs Off The Full Length. Limited to 250 Copies.
* Maruta - 2005 Demo (self released). 4 Tracks In Total, Packaged In a DVD Case. Limited to 420 Copies

0 komentar:

Post a Comment