Thursday, October 21, 2010

Abysmal Dawn

Biography :

Abysmal Dawn is an American death metal band from Los Angeles, California. Their latest album, Programmed To Consume, was released in 2008 on Relapse Records.

History :

Hailing from Los Angeles, CA, Abysmal Dawn plays an aggressive mix of modern death metal. The band seamlessly blends the hooks and technicality of early 90's American death metal, with atmosphere, melody and the brutality of their contemporaries.

Abysmal Dawn was formed by Charles Elliott (guitars/vocals), Jamie Boulanger (guitars), and Terry Barajas (drums) who circulated a three song demo in winter 2004. The demo garnered some attention for the band within the underground metal press circuit as well as helped them score gigs alongside Exodus, 3 Inches of Blood, Hate Eternal, Into Eternity and Aborted.

In November ‘05, the band began work on what would become their first proper full-length From Ashes with engineer John Haddad (Intronaut, Eyes of Fire, Phobia). The resulting nine songs paid special attention to not only brutality, but song craft as well and earned the band a remarkable international press response for a debut album. On the strength of From Ashes, they earned their first U.S. tour, a five-week juggernaut alongside Six Feet Under and Decapitated and played as support throughout their home state with the likes of Suffocation, Emperor, Immortal, Goatwhore and Decrepit Birth.

In 2007, Abysmal Dawn played a handful of festivals (LA Murderfest, Gathering of the Sick, Burning Star Metal Fest, and more) but most of the band’s time was devoted to writing and rehearsing new material for their follow-up to From Ashes. By November, Abysmal Dawn had entered Haddad’s new studio to begin the next full-length.

Abysmal Dawn spent the next three-months in and out of the studio crafting Programmed To Consume. One by one, track by track, the pieces of this record came together, including brand new artwork once again from Par Olofsson.

In February 2008, Abysmal Dawn signed a deal with Relapse Records, making Programmed To Consume the band’s label debut. Abysmal Dawn unleashed this virulent strain of modern death metal on May 13 (May 19 internationally). The band’s metallic assault thunders with all the hallmarks of death metal’s finest traits, and prove that Abysmal Dawn is an explosive new force in American death metal.

Band Members :

Current Members :

* Charles Elliott - Vocals, Guitar
* Ian Jekelis - Guitars (2008–present)
* Ken Bedene - Live Tour Drums
* Michael Cosio - Bass Guitar (2006–present)

Former Members :

* Terry Barajas - Session Drums
* Jamie Boulanger - Guitars (2003–2008)
* Carlos Arriola - Bass (2006)

Discography :

* Abysmal Dawn - From Ashes (2006)
* Abysmal Dawn - Programmed to Consume (2008)

0 komentar:

Post a Comment