Thursday, September 23, 2010

Broken Hope

Biography :

Broken Hope was an American death metal band that was founded in 1988. They were known as an accomplished mid-paced style death metal band with low-pitched growling vocals. As a band, they spanned roughly twelve years, recording five albums between 1991 and 1999.

History :

The core of Broken Hope formed by Joe Ptacek (vocals), Jeremy Wagner (rhythm guitar), Brian Griffin (lead guitar), and Ryan Stanek (drums) scored a deal with the then-fledging Grindcore/RedLight Label and cut their debut album, Swamped in Gore. Following that release, Metal Blade Records signed the band, who released their second album, The Bowels of Repugnance, in 1993. The band's third album, 1995's Repulsive Conception, reached CMJ New Music Monthly's Metal Top 25 chart, as did the follow-up, 1997's Loathing, an album which explored topics such as political domination, necrophilia, and safe sex. The band moved to Martyr Records for their fifth album, Grotesque Blessings, released in 1999. Rumors of the band's demise circulated at this time, and by April 2002, Broken Hope disbanded. In a 2007 interview, Wagner explained that several factors, including band dysfunction and a lack of support in Europe from Metal Blade, contributed to the split. Wagner added that the band members had met "face to face" for the first time in five years and discussed a possible reunion. On January 20, 2010, vocalist Joe Ptacek committed suicide with a gunshot to the head. He was 37 years old.

Band Members :

Former Members :

* Joe Ptacek (1972-2010)
* Brian Griffin
* Jeremy Wagner
* Shaun Glass
* Scott Creekmore
* Dave Duff
* Ed Hughes
* Sean Baxter
* Ryan Stanek
* Larry DeMumbrum
* Jeff Bumgardner
* Duane Timlin

Discography :

* Broken Hope - 1991: Swamped in Gore
* Broken Hope - 1993: The Bowels of Repugnance
* Broken Hope - 1995: Repulsive Conception
* Broken Hope - 1997: Loathing
* Broken Hope - 1999: Grotesque Blessings

0 komentar:

Post a Comment


Admin :